Whitworth Town Council

Return to list of services

Information on this page was last updated on 24/04/2018

Whitworth Town Council was formed in 1974 following the reorganisation of local government in England. Prior to this date, Whitworth Urban District Council was the administrative body in the Valley, but was abolished following the reorganisation.

In Whitworth, local government services are provided by three local authorities – Whitworth Town Council, Rossendale Borough Council and Lancashire County Council.

The Council consists of 12 elected members (Councillors), who are served by a Town Clerk. The Mission Statement of the Council is “To improve the quality of life for the community of Whitworth”.

The Town Council offices and Council Chamber are now located in the Civic Hall complex in Whitworth.

Share this page:

If you spot an error on this page, or have difficulty contacting this organisation please let us know.
Is this your organisation?  contact us to find out how we can help to promote your services and activities.